Robert Elms

Photo © GQ

Well…

The penultimate Robert Elms Show as we know it is now being broadcast – as Robert himself has just announced that he will be on holiday for the next three weeks and when he comes back it will be three days a week. 

Friday. Saturday. Sunday. 

Let’s get this absolutely straight; for me there isn’t a radio show that can touch it. National or local. 

I’m biased of course as the fella is pretty much the same age as myself and we have similar interests. We have shared/share the same pastimes, loved the same music, worn the same clothes, drank in the same pubs and clubs. 

It also helps that I have spent half of my adult life living and working in London and – like Robert – I love the city.

I love his book on the city – not as much as his Spanish book – but even though I now live 200 miles from the capital city it is the radio show that has kept me informed about that city for the last 20+ years.

The show has amused me, informed me, educated me and – at times – infuriated me (The Beatles ban for one) but deep, deep down it is a joy and a Godsend for us “working from home” mob. 

I’ve discovered music I would never have heard if not for the show, been to art exhibitions that were recommended, seen films and bought books that I have heard reviewed and their directors/authors interviewed, heard my mates interviewed on the show along with those that call in.

Then there are the regular slots like Notes and Queries, Funky Friday and Listed Londoner that always entertain.

The fact that the best Listed Londoners are very often the Londoners you don’t know says a lot. Because it’s their show. It’s our show. Yes there will always be the big publishers having their people plugging their book but there will equally be the girl that has self-published. All those people will miss the show. The independents, freelancers and those trying to get along in the world. The most-intelligent, inspiring, multi-cultural, diverse and down-to-fucking earth show that the BBC has produced.

But, but, but…

All we can do is wish Robert the best and tune into the new slots – or – in my case more likely – listen again/catch-up. 

The schedule change (including dropping Jo Good from the daytime slot) reeks of ageism and an unfathomable disregard for the demographic that tunes in but it was coming. I think we could see that but to do this after he and his team have just taken us through the worst 18 months since WWII is a proper kick in the teeth. Going into the studio every day. I despair…

However, let’s reflect on/celebrate twenty-plus years of how to present a radio show. Twenty-plus years of how to connect with an audience and how to programme proper music. From Coltrane to The Kinks. The Congos to Cameo.

Been a pleasure to listen to it all. 

See you at the bar in Ronnie’s, mate.

8 thoughts on “Robert Elms

  1. Absolutely spot on, I can listen to other stations, jazz fm or magic soul for example but it’s the chat and banter that I really enjoy. I certainly don’t always agree with some of the things he says but his manner and knowledge are great.
    The music is pretty across the board and I’ve seen and bought music that he’s introduced me to that I dot think I would get from any other station. Sad day when the powers that be completely ignore the demographic and try to force their ideas on something that doesn’t need changing.
    Rant over ….

  2. I was quite depressed when I heard the bad news. Robert has a unique approach to things, and none of his occasional “replacements” are in any way satisfactory. I can’t imagine tuning in to BBC London if he’s not on. (I’ll be back to R4 and R4 Extra I suppose.) Where could they fit in the Architecture slot once occupied by Maxwell, for example? Removing Jo Good to the graveyard slot was nasty too. Are children running the BBC now?

  3. Thats a lovely tribute and so true , such a shame that the BBC feels it needs to tick boxes to accommodate a small minority
    Both Robert and Jo Good are excellent broadcasters , and both will be missed from there usual spots
    Keep going Robert , and i look forward to listening in on the 26th

  4. I’m not going to say to much on the matter as this banal decision has already pissed me off. Like yourself I’m a similar age to Bob, I too have similar interests, his show’s about the place he loves, London and by never about him. He knows his listeners and they know and love him. I’m hoping that Bob is taken on elsewhere and that the listening figures take massive nosedive. Time for the licence fee to be scrapped.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.