“ONLY ONES I TRUST”

Punk Rock? Yeah, I can take it or leave it nowadays. I was a punk rocker back in late 1976 and through to 1979; and boy did I love the music. I still do. For me The Clash are still the UK’s greatest rock band but we move on.
However, as we move on a lot of us from back then still carry that punk attitude. It still helps inform my life albeit along with many other factors.
But it is still there and as I move on I always keep an eye on what’s about. And there still is some great punk rock around. I mean let’s face it, American band Rancid would have been superstars whether they were around in 1977 or 1997. They are still keeping the flame alight and – in a roundabout way it is through Rancid that I came to know about Isle of Wight punk band Grade 2.

The band’s third album – their Hellcat Records debut – Graveyard Island – was recorded and produced by Rancid’s Tim Armstrong at Armstrong’s Shiprec Studios. It was one of 2019’s best albums and now they have just released the single Only Ones I Trust, an outtake from that album. And the first thing you have to say is, “How the Hell(cat) did it miss the cut?
Punk rock at it’s finest with a chorus to kill for! One of the tracks of 2020 and a defiant banger that should help you get through the last two months of this wretched year.

The artwork on the video is by Tim Armstrong.
Hey Ho Let’s Go!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.