My Boy

 

I love a good bit of jazzy pop and this it a bit more than good. I know nothing about the artists of the song but I love it.

Here’s what the BLURB has to say:

“My Boy” is the debut single from new London group Girlhood, set for release through Team Talk Records on 1st November 2016. It was premiered today by Loud and Quiet, who praised the “underground ’90s dance track made on a London narrow boat.”

Recorded over the course of several hazy summer nights, “My Boy” reveals the sweet cut ‘n’ paste soul of an exciting new outfit. Girlhood features the production from London’s Christian Pinchbeck (formally of the band Elephant) and the vocal talents of Kenya-raised Tessa Cavanna, plus a revolving collective of musicians and vocalists.

When they met in late 2015, it was the right time to cross paths; Christian was looking for a new creative outlet having suffered broken hearts and broken bones when his previous band split, while Kenya raised Tessa wanted to work on something removed from her neo-soul roots.

“I grew tired of playing instruments, of familiar sounds and techniques,” explains Christian. “I wanted music to seem alien again, to reignite that spark. I sold my laptop and bought an iPad and some homemade sampling apps and starting messing about with different cuts, using touch technology and manipulating sound waves in real time. This birthed a new exciting way to write and when I met Tessa things just fell into place.”

Bonding over a shared love of Barry White, The Fugees and late 80s hip hop, Girlhood record at Christian’s narrow boat “Molotov” on London’s Regents Canal. Girlhood are currently working on their debut EP which should be released in early 2017.

Leave a Reply

